Skip to main content

Contact Us

Historians and genealogists looking for past issues of the Athens Messenger have several options.

Unfortunately, we do not have the resources to fulfill look-up requests, but we can hopefully point you in the right direction.

For articles and obituaries for the time period 2008 - present, check our website archives.

For articles and obituaries that published earlier, you have several options.

Ohio University's Alden Library on the Athens campus and the Ohio Historical Society Archives/Library in Columbus both have microfilmed copies of our newspaper.

You can use the Historical Society's Online Index to see which years are available in their microfilm room. Don't forget to check the index for publications that were produced in some of the smaller communities too. Many of those weekly papers are available on microfilm at the historical society. The link to the index is http://dbs.ohiohistory.org/newspaper/home.cfm.

For searchable digital archives, try www.newspaperarchive.com, www.ancestry.com and www.genealogybank.com. Those third party vendors have electronic editions of the Messenger for certain time periods that are searchable by name and keyword, not just edition date.

The Athens Messenger staff:

Amanda Montgomery, senior general manager of Southern Ohio for APG Media

amontgomery@adamspg.com

740-592-6612, Ext. 301121


Allan Brown, editor

abrown@apg-oh.com

740-592-6612, Ext. 301131


Eric Decker, sports editor

edecker@athensmessenger.com

740-592-6612, Ext. 301139


John Halley, photo editor

jhalley@athensmessenger.com

740-592-6612, Ext. 301133


Nicole Bowman-Layton, staff writer

nlayton@athensmessenger.com

740-592-6612, Ext. 301155



OTHER DEPARTMENTS:

Teresa Humphreys, advertising director

teresa@athensnews.com

740-594-8210, Ext. 300623


 

Paula Keplar, advertising account executive

paula@athensmessenger.com

740-592-6612, Ext. 301126


Ann Blunt, director of distribution and audience development

ablunt@adamspg.com

740-592-6612, Ext. 301111


Adam Calhoun, controller

acalhoun@adamspg.com

740-592-6612, Ext. 301185


Cheryl Powers, webmaster

cpowers@athensmessenger.com

740-592-6612, Ext. 301151


For assistance with subscriptions and billing, contact our circulation department 740-592-6612, press "1" and then "5."


 

Trending Recipes